Dec 13, 2010  NIGHT of the JUMPs Fortaleza 2010
Multiple times Vice World Champion Libor Podmol did it – FIM Freestyle MX World Champion 2010!
Fortalesa, 12th December 2010: This was by far the most thrilling conclusion ever to the NIGHT of the JUMPs FIM Freestyle MX World Championship. As nightfall engulfed the Estadio Castelao in Fortalesa, it was showdown time for the two World Championship contenders, Libor Podmol (CZE) und Brice Izzo (FRA). Both riders gave their all, as they traded incredible Backflip Combos in the finale. The Czech rider finally prevailed at the Brazilian Grand Prix and secured the long-awaited world championship title.

But firstly, they both had to progress through the qualifiyings that might well have been called ‘Brazil versus the rest of the world’. The five best ‘Brasilieros’, Marcelo Simoes, Gilmar Flores, Fred Kyrillos, Otavio Neto and local hero Claudio Rocha, tried to win through to the finals. Flores and Simoes turned in good performances but in the last analysis, all the Brazilians went out after the preliminary rounds. A sixth South American, Javier Villegas, fared better. The Chilean took third place in qualifying at his NIGHT of the JUMPs premiere and bagged a place in the finals, followed by David Rinaldo, Jose Miralles, Remi Bizouard and the two World Championship contestants, Podmol and Izzo.

It was clear that only a big mistake by Podmol in the final would result in Izzo clinching the title. Even if Frenchman Izzo had won this contest, the Czech only had to finish fourth to become World Champion. Libor needed some support from the other finalists, and they did all they could to oblige. Rinaldo produced a Double Grab Backflip, Jose Miralles his Superman Seat Grab Indy Flip, Javier Villegas did an impressive Tsunami Flip and Remi Bizouard performed the Ruler Flip plus Heart Attack Backflip.

But then Brice Izzo really went to town. He scored 425 points with a Lazyboy Flip, Tsunami Flip, Underflip and a Stripper Flip. That put Podmol under a lot of pressure, but the Czech kept his nerve: Underflips, a Cliffhanger Flip, and a Superman Seat Grab Flip Indy, to name but a few tours de force from his routine, gave him victory on the day and the 2010 FIM Freestyle MW World Championship crown.

Spaniard Jose Miralles, who finished second in the FMX World Championships last year at this same venue, was third.  Javier Villegas won the Whip Contest and Bianconcini was best-placed rider in the Highest Air competition.

IFMXF will now take a short winter break until the 14-15th January, which sees the UEM Freestyle European Championship opener at the NIGHT of the JUMPs in Linz, Austria.  First round of the FIM Freestyle MX World Championship takes place 19th February at the NIGHT of the JUMPs in Turin, Italy.

Firstname Lastname Nat WR Pts
1 Libor Podmol CZE 20.0
2 Brice Izzo FRA 18.0
3 Remi Bizouard FRA 16.0
4 Javier Villegas CHL 14.0
5 Jose Miralles ESP 12.0
6 David Rinaldo FRA 10.0
7 Massimo Bianconcini ITA 9.0
8 Fabian Bauersachs GER 8.0
9 Hannes Ackermann GER 7.0
10 Gilmar Flores BRA 6.0
12 Fred Kyrillos BRA 4.0
13 Octavio Neto BRA 3.0

Firstname Lastname Nat Pts
1 Libor Podmol CZE 429.0
2 Brice Izzo FRA 425.0
3 Remi Bizouard FRA 401.0
4 Javier Villegas CHL 392.0
5 Jose Miralles ESP 380.0
6 David Rinaldo FRA 369.0

Highest Air
Firstname Lastname Nat Height
1 Massimo Bianconcini ITA 6.8 m
2 Octavio Neto BRA 5.5 m
3 Hannes Ackermann GER 0.0 m

Firstname Lastname Nat Points
1 Libor Podmol CZE 367.0
2 Brice Izzo FRA 355.0
3 Javier Villegas CHL 349.0
4 Remi Bizouard FRA 347.0
5 Jose Miralles ESP 330.0
6 David Rinaldo FRA 320.0
7 Massimo Bianconcini ITA 309.0
8 Fabian Bauersachs GER 309.0
9 Hannes Ackermann GER 290.0
10 Gilmar Flores BRA 270.0
12 Fred Kyrillos BRA 228.0
13 Octavio Neto BRA 174.0
14 Claudio Rocha BRA 150.0